Few countries of Middle East imposed ban on ukrainian poultry

Fri, 17.03.2017 13:08

Iraq, China, Qatar, Yemen and Jordan have imposed a ban on supply of poultry from all territory of Ukraine.

According to a posting on the website of Ukraine's State Service for Food Safety and Consumer Rights Protection, Hong Kong, the EU, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) applied the regional principle. These countries ban shipments of poultry only from those Ukrainian regions where outbreaks of avian influenza were recorded.

The authority also said that at present China is assessing the process of heating egg products. The interested enterprises will be informed on the results of the assessment.

"These bans have been in effect for the second month. Today the State Food Safety Service published the list of countries that introduced the restrictions," Head of the Union of Poultry Farmers Serhiy Karpenko.

He said that the temporary ban is usually in effect three months more since the last outbreak recorded.

Karpenko said that despite the restrictions Ukraine continues boosting exports of poultry and eggs in January and February 2017, diversifying the markets.

According to the State Fiscal Service, Ukraine in January and February 2017 exported 31,730 tonnes of poultry and byproducts, and this was 45.4% more than a year ago. Exports of shell eggs grew by 53.5%, to 8,100 tonnes.

As reported, a ban on supply of Ukrainian poultry to the EU is in effect for Chernivtsi, Odesa and Kherson regions where avian influenza outbreaks were recorded.

Read this article in russian.

Source: Interfax

Leaving your comment, please remember that the content and tone of your messages can affect the feelings of people, directly or indirectly related to the news. Please, take respect and tolerance to your interlocutors even if your views are opposite.
Opinions expressed below do not reflect the opinions of SP "Ukraine in Arabic," they only reflect the views of the author.

Partner news


Search us in Facebook

Partner news